(The quickest way to register)

Forum

Dear visitor! The webpage is only available in English. We're sorry for the inconvenience.
  1. User picture
    • MysteryFCM on Wed 30 Jul 2008
    • 07:15:41 PM UTC

    sURL rating

    Ref:
    http://www.mywot.com/en/scorecard/surl.co.uk

    Can you tell me which spam blacklist this appeared on please? (the domain is owned and ran by me, and is never used for e-mail or such) I've tried finding any blacklist it appears on, but have been unsuccessful.

    Regards Steven Burn I.T. Mate / hpHosts it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Comments:

  1. User picture
    • MysteryFCM on Wed 30 Jul 2008
    • 07:28:24 PM UTC

    Seems I've found the site

    Seems I've found the site thats blacklisted it, and it's blacklisted the sites IP, not the site itself. Alas requesting removal is going to be useless considering it's hosted by FastHosts, and they control whether it resolves to it's own PTR, or the FH generic PTR;

    [QUOTE]
    Your host is in a spammy netblock and has a missing, generic, or identical (non-unique) PTR record. These IP's are NOT eligible for removal until provisioned with a distinguishing PTR record. This is the most common reason for refusal of removal requests. Don't waste time requesting removal of IP's with generic or missing PTR records. Provide a distinguishing PTR record or configure your mail host to use your ISP's smart relay.
    [/QUOTE]

    I tried submitting a removal request and received the following;

    [QUOTE]
    213.171.218.38 not eligible for removal: GENERIC PTR
    [/QUOTE]

  2. User picture
    • Sami on Wed 30 Jul 2008
    • 07:47:00 PM UTC

    Re: sURL rating

    Actually, the domain was flagged by one of our private sources that looks for links that appear in spam. Our system doesn't consider the source very reliable, so it probably produces quite a few false positives.

    I'm not sure why it's labeled as a "spam blacklist" though, we'll fix that tomorrow.

  3. User picture
    • MysteryFCM on Wed 30 Jul 2008
    • 08:36:32 PM UTC

    Can you e-mail me details on

    Can you e-mail me details on the flagged details please? (I like to disable sURL's that are used in spam).

  4. User picture
    • logicman on Wed 30 Jul 2008
    • 10:29:44 PM UTC

    Spammers use URL shortening services.

    I have just posted this in both WOT and SA:

    Unfortunately, spammers can use a URL
    shortening service, just like any of us.

    They prefer to use these URLs so that
    the blame for spam will tend to fall
    on the URL-service site rather than the
    actual spammer.

    This site is clean.

    Just be careful of the 'crazy' URL -
    it may crash your browser - but not
    in a maliceous way - just overload. :-)

    I hope this helps.
    :-)

  5. User picture
    • MysteryFCM on Wed 30 Jul 2008
    • 11:55:31 PM UTC

    hehe nice one, cheers :o) I

    hehe nice one, cheers :o)

    I originally put the "Are you nuts!!!" option in there because none of the others had it. However, with the advent of IE7/IE8, the "crazy" URL's seem to crash the browsers, unlike IE6 .... so I've been pondering getting rid of it (it's not really useful anyway - just there for a laugh).

    Unlike most of the others I'm aware of, I wrote sURL to display the URL the visitor will be taken to, along with it's inclusion status in hpHosts, MDL etc, and options to view it's SA report (and more recently, it's WOT report too). On top of, of course, the option to dissect the URL with my vURL service :o)