(The quickest way to register)

Forum

Dear visitor! The webpage is only available in English. We're sorry for the inconvenience.
  1. User picture
    • logicman on Thu 28 Aug 2008
    • 10:40:36 PM UTC

    Rogue site using AVG good name.

    AVG-Download-Free.net is a ROGUE site!

    At the genuine grisoft AVG download sites, you just download AVG free,
    but this site will redirect you to hxxps://secure.signupsecurity.com -
    another known rogue site.

    In recent Yahoo answers, people have been directed to this rogue:
    http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=200808...

    http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=200808...

    I am unable to report these answers, since Yahoo has blocked my account.
    It's not just me, other malware-fighters are being hit by Yahoo trolls also:
    http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index;_ylt=AhyIn...

    Posting on this forum is my way of letting as many people as possible know
    that AVG-Download-Free.net is a ROGUE site!

    Stay safe!

    :-)

    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Protect and Surf.

Comments:

  1. User picture
    • Security_Wiz on Fri 29 Aug 2008
    • 12:22:28 AM UTC

    AVG

    Thanks!

    Also, is avg.com a rogue website?

    The real website is grisoft.com, right?

    On Wikipedia, they link to avg.com.

  2. User picture
    • logicman on Fri 29 Aug 2008
    • 02:05:47 AM UTC

    The real site.

    grisoft.com is easy to remember and has links to the free download.
    avg.com is ok and will redirect you to grisoft.com

    The genuine URL >
    http://www.grisoft.com/

    There are other genuine sites, but also other typo-squatters -
    watch out for any G-R-Y soft sites - some are really nasty.

    In passing - I both use and recommend AVG8 free.
    Despite its having been a bit slow and buggy lately, it has been of good service
    in accurately identifying new trojan variants - which helps me warn others of attack sites.

    Stay safe!

    :-)

  3. User picture
    • wmlyndall on Fri 29 Aug 2008
    • 02:10:03 AM UTC

    Security ratings conflict

    I'm a novice in the security area. Maybe someone can shed light on how conflicting ratings arise. The site listed below is currently being blocked by Google. But WOT shows a green circle when you Google it. Is there a way to resolve this discrepancy, or is it just inevitable with so many sites and so many users? If a site is being blocked like this, is there a way to get unblocked if. as in this case, the owner is a legitimate plumbing business in Chicago.?
    WL

    Banner Plumbing - Wholesale Distributor of Plumbing Supplies

    This site may harm your computer.
    For over 52 years Banner Plumbing has been committed to the plumbing contractors in the entire Chicago area for providing plumbing supplies.
    http://www.bannerplumbing.com/ - Similar pages - Note this

  4. User picture
    • logicman on Fri 29 Aug 2008
    • 02:34:29 AM UTC

    Re: bannerplumbing.

    Hi, wmlyndall, and welcome.

    I just caught your query before shutting my PC down.

    Here is Google's report:
    http://safebrowsing.clients.google.com/safebrowsin...
    As far as I know, only the site owner or admin can legally remove the file,
    an issue currently under discussion in legal circles.

    At this time, malware is being hacked onto multiple innocent sites.
    Spammers then send out links such as "innocentsite dot com/watchmovie.exe"
    The spammer's intent is to infect as many PCs as possible and make them part of a botnet.
    The ultimate aim is to steal credit card and bank details.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Storm_botnet

    Note to admin:
    When this site shows as clean again, please delete my comment for bannerplumbing.

  5. User picture
    • DarkRazorBeast on Sun 31 Aug 2008
    • 11:05:29 AM UTC

    Thanks!

    Hey, thanks for the warning.

  6. User picture
    • phantazm on Sun 31 Aug 2008
    • 12:24:35 PM UTC

    Alerting Yahoo

    logicman: "I am unable to report these answers, since Yahoo has blocked my account. It's not just me, other malware-fighters are being hit by Yahoo trolls also..."

    I'm not blocked, so I have passed your warnings and alerted yahoo.

  7. User picture
    • logicman on Sun 31 Aug 2008
    • 04:40:59 PM UTC

    Re: I have passed your warnings and alerted yahoo

    Thanks, phantazm.

    I appreciate that! :-)