(The quickest way to register)

Forum

Dear visitor! The webpage is only available in English. We're sorry for the inconvenience.
  1. User picture
    • Anonymous on Thu 25 Sep 2008
    • 06:51:23 PM UTC

    Uniblue

    Why does the Uniblue utilites site . . . http://www.mywot.com/en/scorecard/liutilities.com#... . . . still show a green rating when I know quite a few people who have rated it low (myself included), and if you look at page two of the comments, even hpHosts has commented that they are a purveyor of rogue security software?

    My only guess is that there have been enough higher ratings to scew the score into the green.

Comments:

  1. User picture
    • Sami on Thu 25 Sep 2008
    • 06:57:00 PM UTC

    Re: Uniblue

    Vast majority of users have rated the site green. What you are seeing in the comments is merely the vocal minority.

    This isn't entirely uncommon either, look at the child safety rating for The Pirate Bay, for example. People who disagree with the rating are more likely to voice their opinions in a comment.

  2. User picture
    • BobJam (not verified) on Thu 25 Sep 2008
    • 07:04:29 PM UTC

    Yes. but doesn't the hpHosts

    Yes. but doesn't the hpHosts rating have a lot of weight?? Or is that reflected in the low score?, which actually borders on yellow.

    And the Uniblue site itself (Uniblue.com) IS yellow, which seems like a contradiction.

    • User picture
      • Sami on Thu 25 Sep 2008
      • 07:15:08 PM UTC

      Re: Yes. but doesn't the hpHosts

      Yes, it does have a lot of weight, but when there's a large enough majority of reliable users who disagree, they can override any blacklist.

      Uniblue.com isn't nearly as popular as liutilities.com, which explains the rating. Many of the people who rated liutilities.com probably haven't even heard of uniblue.com.

  3. User picture
    • Reprotected on Thu 25 Sep 2008
    • 10:46:56 PM UTC

    Uniblue

    Uniblue is not malicious, I doubt that it's a Gold Member of Microsoft but I can tell you it's legitimate, BUT, the software is not worth anything.

    • User picture
      • BobJam (not verified) on Fri 26 Sep 2008
      • 12:02:25 AM UTC

      Well . . . maybe it's not

      Well . . . maybe it's not malicious, but it DOES sell a registry cleaner ("Registry Booster") on the same "business plan" as that PCDocPro stuff . . . ie. it detects a large amount of "errors', "fixes" a small amount, and then holds the user hostage with the dire warning that if they don't pay for the registered version, they won't be able to "fix" the remaining "errors". Now it's arguable whether or not these errors are trivial and transient, but it's not arguable that they play on a user's fears with those dire warnings and pry some cold hard cash from novices. To me that's fraudulent and a scam, and it is also judged exactly that by hpHosts. Malicious, I guess not . . . a scam, YES.

      And then there's logicman's point about the Microsoft Gold Partner and the McAfee HackerSafe logo, so if you add all that together, it's definitely fraudulent and a scam.

      Now we've been tossing around the word "Legitimate", but I think WOT's use of "Trustworthy" is much easier to define, and logicman's use of the phrase "deceptive practices" is almost self-evident. Whether or not you consider iutilties/Uniblue "legitimate", to me being deceptive, fraudulent and a scam makes it NOT trustworthy. But apparently, logicman and I and hpHosts are in the minority. So be it.

      Uniblue likely gets a good reputation because of the "process library" it maintains, which I wouldn't disagree is a good source of info and trustworthy. But to use that as leverage for scams is in itself a scam.

  4. User picture
    • logicman on Thu 25 Sep 2008
    • 11:40:56 PM UTC

    liutilities - my complaint.

    The last time I checked, Microsoft clearly stated that gold partner status is not an endorsement by Microsoft of any company or product.

    My complaint against liusoft is its deceptive practices: they use the gold partner status as if it were an endorsement, and they have a bogus HackerSafe logo on their site.
    http://www.liutilities.com/products/
    Where it says 'Microsoft Gold Partner' on the right, click 'learn more'.
    You will see a McAfee HackerSafe logo. Click it. It vanishes.

    A genuine HackerSafe logo will link to McAfee where the site's status as having been checked by McAfee will be confirmed.

    A genuine HackerSafe symbol will also be displayed in a prominent position, not buried deep in the site's structure.

    Posting an unauthorised HackerSafe logo is not just a breach of McAfee's copyright on that symbol - it's a fraud.

    liutilities needs to look up 'ethics' in a good dictionary.
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
    Protect and Surf.

  5. User picture
    • RichyN on Sun 02 May 2010
    • 03:14:48 PM UTC

    Uniblue SpeedUpMyPC 2010 - Free download.

    This limited time 'freeware' product appears to be a vehicle to encourage the user to buy one of their other products. As one of my colleagues mentioned "there was no discernable increase in PC performance once program had been run"!

  6. User picture
    • demonluo on Mon 03 May 2010
    • 07:37:02 AM UTC

    uniblue is scam... Platinum

    uniblue is scam...
    Platinum Level Member of the WOT Community

  7. User picture
    • BobJam (not verified) on Mon 03 May 2010
    • 09:42:26 AM UTC

    Search

    Just do a search on "Uniblue" here on WOT. Has been discussed many times.

  8. User picture
    • Uniblue on Mon 07 Nov 2011
    • 03:27:08 PM UTC

    Uniblue

    Hi All,
    We assure you Uniblue is not a scam and that Uniblue is a legitimate company. We have won many awards for our products and we take pride in the positive reviews we receive. We are also a Microsoft Partner Gold Independent Software Provider. You can see some of the rewards weve one by other prominent tech sites here:

    http://www.uniblue.com/support/faq/find-reviews-awards-regar...

    If you have any questions you can ask our support here:
    http://www.uniblue.com/support/ticket/

    Best Regards,
    Uniblue Customer Relations Team