(The quickest way to register)

Forum

  1. User picture
    • Spacequad on Sat 04 Oct 2008
    • 12:45:23 PM UTC

    Microsoft's livefilestore.com domain

    Whats up with the spammer using livefilestore.com as a DNS redirect to various spam sites? Every time I turn around, I'm seeing spam messages in the quarentine folder of our company's spam filter on this domain. Almost all links have different sub-domains listed in the links and redirect either some pharmaceutical site or gambling site. I tried to notify Microsoft about this abusive behavior and there contact emails were invalid on the whois. So I contacted the registrar and they said they would look into it and get it resolved. It has now been over a month and we are still receiving this spam, about 50 emails a day. I tried to look at the standard website that might be available for the domain and every possible basic url like http://www.livefilestore.com would not resolve so I could try and figure out what this domain really is for. Still trying to figure out why Microsoft has this domain. Any thoughts on this? You can visit http://spamtracker.spacequad.com and do a search for livefilestore and come up with a full list of issues to view. There you will get an idea what I mean. Ultimately, can someone pull some strings to get this rouge domain secured or shut down if its not being used?

    Michael

Comments:

  1. User picture
    • lordpake on Sat 04 Oct 2008
    • 01:25:00 PM UTC

    Unfortunately seems spammers

    Unfortunately seems spammers have lately begun to employ MS free services to their advantage, hotmail being another. I believe its CAPTCHA was broken.

    Perhaps it's part the Skydrive project? http://skydrive.live.com/

    "Men make good pets."

    • User picture
      • Spacequad on Sat 04 Oct 2008
      • 02:08:55 PM UTC

      Yes it does seem to be part

      Yes it does seem to be part of Windows Live file sharing. I just did a test run and created this link that uses the same algorithm URL style. Check out the url and you will see that it goes to our company.

      http://7u9w3a.bay.livefilestore.com/y1pFBqhyc2iG0Z... Now all we have to do is contact MS to see if they can increase the security to not allow url redirects from embedded web pages on file uploads.

      lordpake, thank you for this information on tracking this down.

  2. User picture
    • phantazm on Sat 04 Oct 2008
    • 02:49:00 PM UTC

    Indeed...

    I also noticed one in PhishTank: fp6smg.bay.livefilestore.com/y1p3fQzYElE64D0daeg9E0TaUMI3UUm6CZg5dbF3ZhjMi3hLwYmZPjMx-bIhKLyaCoVbK85SZpEKb5IaGYB2e9CFw/dlmryr.htm

    PS: It looks as if the forum doesn't know how to truncate precisely..?

  3. User picture
    • Spacequad on Mon 06 Oct 2008
    • 12:01:11 PM UTC

    Update finally

    Thank you for writing to Windows Live SkyDrive.

    We appreciate your effort in informing us about the inappropriate materials posted on the SkyDrive service.

    Rest assured that we will investigate the SkyDrive account that you reported and we will take appropriate action depending on the result of our investigation.

    Sincerely,

    Kurt Glenn
    Windows Live SkyDrive Customer Support

    • User picture
      • lordpake on Mon 06 Oct 2008
      • 02:13:30 PM UTC

      Rest assured that we will

      Rest assured that we will investigate the SkyDrive account that you reported and we will take appropriate action depending on the result of our investigation.

      Crapola. That sounds like they will just investigate/ban that user, instead of doing a thing to the actual problem. Meanwhile the owner of the banned account simply creates another one ...

      "Men make good pets."

      • User picture
        • Spacequad on Tue 07 Oct 2008
        • 01:17:37 AM UTC

        Yea...thats about right

        I figured as much. Thats about right,. We are still receiving approx 50 of these spam mails daily to various accounts of our customers. I certainly hope they get it fixed soon.

  4. User picture
    • BobJam (not verified) on Mon 06 Oct 2008
    • 07:31:15 PM UTC

    So then what's the solution

    So then what's the solution to this problem?? Call Microsoft and explain the argument and get a better response??

  5. User picture
    • Spacequad on Thu 16 Oct 2008
    • 06:35:11 PM UTC

    Update

    I talked with M$ finally a few days ago and they finally figured out what they problem was and fixed it. Since then, we have not received any further emails with livefilestore.com links in them. Lets hope this is the end of it.

    Michael

  6. User picture
    • Sami on Thu 16 Oct 2008
    • 07:19:11 PM UTC

    Re: Update

    Lets hope this is the end of it

    I saw one of those in my inbox just a few hours ago. We'll see if they can really fix the problem.

  7. User picture
    • smackhalfwits on Wed 14 Oct 2009
    • 11:42:39 PM UTC

    this ain't algores internet

    > I tried to look at the standard website

    do you yet realize DNS predates the interweb?

    URI RBL

    > we are still receiving this spam

    EXACTLY what antispam measures do you have employed? Remember: wishful thinking is not effective.

    > can someone pull some strings to get this rouge domain secured or shut down

    socialist much?

    ....
    chastity.com is love

    .

    • User picture
      • g7w on Wed 14 Oct 2009
      • 11:57:03 PM UTC

      this aint a live topic

      > Microsoft's livefilestore.com domain
      Sat 04 Oct 2008

      This thread is a year old.

      chasity.com is privately owned and not by the Catholic Church but rather by catholic.com (2020 Gillespie Way, El Cajon, CA 92020 USA); sorry I'm not Catholic.

      -------
      WOT Services Ltd. - gives us safety through Web of Trust.
      WOT Community - gives us security through unity.
      Thank you all
      - G7W

  8. User picture
    • tellonem on Mon 14 Mar 2011
    • 03:05:51 AM UTC

    RE: Microsoft's livefilestore.com domain

    I might just quit using this, and get an account at image shack.

    "Bri" for short. Surf safely.

    • User picture
      • arahman76 on Sun 19 Jun 2011
      • 03:14:50 PM UTC

      RE: Microsoft's livefilestore.com domain

      If you're looking for Image Hosting, I would suggest Imgur/Dropbox over Imageshack (easier directlink for TTI); if you don't want to use Skydrive (though I don't see why).