Forum
Comments:
-
- on Sat 13 Dec 2008
- 08:53:44 AM UTC
Huh??
Have you miss-spelled and are you talking about "download.com"?
If so, it all shows up green on my machine:
So where is it red on yours? Or should I search on "downlaod.com"?
Now download.com probably has some malicious downloads, but by and large it's a safe site.
What am I missing here?
-
- on Sat 13 Dec 2008
- 11:37:28 AM UTC
That's simple
Yeah, he wrote "downlaod.com". If the site is rated red and isn't blocked, it means that the reliability of the ratings is too low (e.g. not enough people have rated). If you rate it red yourself, the warning screen should show up.
-
- on Sun 14 Dec 2008
- 09:34:44 AM UTC
Typosquatter..?
BobJam: "Have you miss-spelled and are you talking about "download.com"?"
Or perhaps it's typosquatting..?
According to whois it's an old site, from 27 Nov 1999
IP Location: USA - Washington - Bellevue - Enom Incorporated
And the rest is secret because the owner is anonymous...By the way, both SiteAdvisor and Norton rates this site yellow.
But apparently no malware lurking, at least not on the frontpage.Since the site is that old, I doubt that it is illegal.
Unfortunately it isn't a crime to steal peoples time... -
- on Sun 14 Dec 2008
- 10:24:06 AM UTC
Re: http://www.downlaod.com/
Okay, back to the original question. .downlaod.com is rated red, but has a low reliability (ie. it has very few ratings). WOT blocks a site only if it is rated bad with a reliability of at least 1/5 (the number of "people" highlighted), or if you rate it bad yourself.


http://www.downlaod.com/
It appears that this site is not blocked or warned against by WOT, even when my custom settings are set to block at this rating level. The website is rated Red on all levels. Any Ideas?...