(The quickest way to register)

Forum

Dear visitor! The webpage is only available in English. We're sorry for the inconvenience.
  1. User picture
    • paul g on Wed 15 Jul 2009
    • 11:18:00 AM UTC

    Has anybody seen this?

    Hi,all,I know i have asked about mediacoder.sourceforge.net on another post and i have downloaded it and used it with no problems except for a small language bar at the top right of screen that dose not go away no (matter what i try) until PC is restarted.Anyway i found this today on MBAM forum and just wondered if it would now affect the WOT rating?
    I was wondering if Malwarebytes Anti-Malware is able to detect and remove Opencandy (www.opencandy.com). I find this kind of adware extremely annoying as it gets installed silently along with an increasing number of legitimate applications mad.gif
    Example of software that silently install Opencandy are PSP Video (www.pspvideo9.com) and MediaCoder (mediacoder.sourceforge.net). They do specify in their EULA the fact that Opencandy is going to be installed, but I guess most users won't read the whole license for every and each software they're going to install. Other than that, there is no checkbox and no other notice on their websites.
    I have looked in my C/program files medidacoder and the opencandy plugin is there?
    The post is on page 3 titled opencandy with uninstall instructions..

    If You Dont Ask You Will Never Know..

Comments:

  1. User picture
    • romulasry on Thu 16 Jul 2009
    • 12:06:03 AM UTC

    http://www.opencandy.com/ I

    http://www.opencandy.com/

    I don't know why this is so bad.

  2. User picture
    • g7w on Thu 16 Jul 2009
    • 12:44:06 AM UTC

    opencandy.com

    opencandy.com
    69.16.243.17
    LISTED IN BLACKLIST!
    b.barracudacentral.org


    -------
    Against Intuition - gives us safety through Web of Trust.
    WOT Community - gives us security through unity.
    Thank you all
    G7W {G.O.M}
    http://g7w.net/

  3. User picture
    • wehaveitall on Thu 16 Jul 2009
    • 12:44:13 AM UTC

    Opencandy

    According to their website, Opencandy recommends software and software developers.
    Also, your link to opencandy.com doesn't work due to the parentheses.
    I downloaded pspvideo, and then checked to see if I could find OpenCandy. There was in fact a folder titled OpenCandy with two files in it. One file was a dll file, and the other was a text file, entitled, "Opencandy_why_this_is_here" Here's what it said:
    What is this folder, its contents, and why is it here?

    This (OpenCandy) folder, the OCSetupHlp.dll file and this text file are
    here because the software publisher whose application you installed is
    part of the OpenCandy network.

    The OpenCandy network enables software publishers to recommend other
    software or services they believe you may find valuable. The
    recommendation occurs during installation of the publisher’s software.

    The OCSetupHlp.dll provides the following functionality:

    * Provides the ability to show recommendations during installation of the
    publisher's software.

    * Launches the OpenCandy download manager if you accept a recommendation,
    in order to download the recommended software's installer.

    * Enables us to provide publishers with AGGREGATE ANONYMOUS statistics
    such as number of initiated installs, completed installs, uninstalls
    (optional), country and language, and how their recommendations are
    performing (based on whether they are accepted or declined). This
    information helps publishers understand and improve their installation
    process and experience.

    The OCSetupHlp.dll file does not have any standalone functionality (it
    only runs during installation and uninstallation of the publisher's
    installer it was integrated with).

    OpenCandy DOES NOT collect or store any personally identifiable
    information. Our privacy policy is located here:
    http://opencandy.com/privacy-policy .

    If you wish, you can delete the OpenCandy folder and its contents at any
    time. Or, if you decide to uninstall the application that included it,
    this folder and its contents will be removed during the uninstallation
    process.

    If you want to find out how OpenCandy is working to revitalize and spur
    innovation in the software community please visit our website at
    http://opencandy.com . If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate
    to contact us http://opencandy.com/contact/

    Thank you.

    - The OpenCandy team

    We rate the websites, the WOT staff creates, and advertises the add-on, and together, we make it all happen.

    • User picture
      • OpenCandy_Malware on Mon 08 Feb 2010
      • 04:32:56 AM UTC

      adware minded.. what else

      OpenCandy is malware (adware). Ads, provide creepy cross domain use stats, and as we all know steal bandwidth. Moreover rationalizing that adware is a service and not an inconvenience- or threat reveals their irrational mindset.

      One of OpenCandy adware developers showed to malware bytes forum to defend himself (digging an even deeper hole)... claiming he's been fighting malware, too, and even uses malware bytes. Yeah, right, I believe that. Do you have any bridges to recommend in your infrastructure?

      OpenCandy sells access to a malware infrastructure for third parties to use. Kind of them? Providing yet another way to have software INFLICTED on the user is... yes... MALWARE: acting other than in the best interests of the users

  4. User picture
    • paul g on Thu 16 Jul 2009
    • 08:46:15 AM UTC

    Intresting..

    Hi,Thanks for your reply's very interesting reading like i said i found the plug in, in C/program files.But im not getting any adware infact i downloaded a vid from youtube
    and used mediacoder to convert it to AVI with no problems infact the little language bar had gone?? So dose this affect the WOT rating just curious..

    Thanks for your time...........cheers............p....................

    If You Dont Ask You Will Never Know..

  5. User picture
    • HappyGolpher on Tue 14 Dec 2010
    • 06:47:17 AM UTC

    opencandy is defective by design

    Its adware runs with local admin rights... that's bad

    I don't want "recommendations" (ads) from anyone I do not know PERSONALLY in REAL life.

    adware is EVIL

    execute adware developers and their apologists