(The quickest way to register)

Forum

  1. User picture
    • tomgagaga on Sat 17 Oct 2009
    • 07:01:58 AM UTC

    dvdvideosoft.com/

    http://www.dvdvideosoft.com/

    The "ask" toolbar is already checked when you install it.

    Does this warrant a yellow rating? Heard that the "Ask" toolbar is sorta malware or hosts to malware.

    I'm really sorry for my ignorance.

Comments:

  1. User picture
    • jpvip on Sat 17 Oct 2009
    • 07:10:00 AM UTC

    Considered malware...

    www.emergingthreats.net Declared: 2008-11 #-7285

    ~DragonMaster Jay, malware researcher,
    Admin, helpmyos.com

  2. User picture
    • jpvip on Sat 17 Oct 2009
    • 08:34:18 AM UTC

    whoa

    So this: AC838EC600A11F995CEE1C5A23C81B0023024BDB.exe
    is the setup file? Last time I checked, it was called freestudio.exe No wonder why it was considered malware. Oh well. I will test it myself, which I have not done yet, and see what I can find.

    ~DragonMaster Jay, malware researcher,
    Admin, helpmyos.com

  3. User picture
    • jpvip on Sat 17 Oct 2009
    • 08:52:38 AM UTC

    RISKY!

    It is not malware. It is risky. When I analyzed it, I saw that it would do an activity called process hijacking, which happens when a program writes to another process's virtual memory.

    ~DragonMaster Jay, malware researcher,
    Admin, helpmyos.com

  4. User picture
    • jpvip on Sat 17 Oct 2009
    • 12:28:01 PM UTC

    Google what?

    Process hijacking?

    ~DragonMaster Jay, malware researcher,
    Admin, helpmyos.com

  5. User picture
    • jpvip on Sat 17 Oct 2009
    • 09:17:08 PM UTC

    Process hijacking explained

    Not always is process hijacking a bad thing. However, if the software does process hijacking in a noticeable form, it is bad.

    Process hijacking can be a program that migrates itself or another program to a new process. OR it can write to another process's virtual memory, which is undesirable. Most software that does process hijacking is considered Risky or potentially Unwanted. It seems like their studio was clean, when tested. But, it is a risky software.

    ~DragonMaster Jay, malware researcher,
    Admin, helpmyos.com

    • User picture
      • g7w on Sun 18 Oct 2009
      • 01:56:59 AM UTC

      curious

      Would a www.threatexpert.com evaluation reveal this?
      -------
      WOT Services Ltd. - gives us safety through Web of Trust.
      WOT Community - gives us security through unity.
      Thank you all
      - G7W

  6. User picture
    • jpvip on Sun 18 Oct 2009
    • 02:15:08 AM UTC

    Did not get a report...

    Could not find any reports in ThreatExpert.

    ~DragonMaster Jay, malware researcher,
    Admin, helpmyos.com

    • User picture
      • g7w on Sun 18 Oct 2009
      • 02:46:40 AM UTC

      submission

      I think you'd have to submit the file?
      -------
      WOT Services Ltd. - gives us safety through Web of Trust.
      WOT Community - gives us security through unity.
      Thank you all
      - G7W