Forum
Comments:
-
- on Sun 18 Oct 2009
- 11:07:33 PM UTC
I GOT THAT WEBSITE TOO FROM SKYPE!
that http://www.updatecp.org/ thing looks like it's a spammer!!!! i got a notification on my skype!!! yikes! i hope i didn't get infected
-
- on Sun 18 Oct 2009
- 11:22:37 PM UTC
I too got that message from
I too got that message from Skype. I'm not even going to bother going there. Watch out people, this is malicious!
-
- on Sun 18 Oct 2009
- 11:56:32 PM UTC
Rated red
Bad news.
Here is a screenshot of the site: http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/6672/updatecporg.pn...
Asks you to pay for Repair Registry 2008 rogue.
~DragonMaster Jay, malware researcher,
Admin, helpmyos.com -
- on Mon 19 Oct 2009
- 04:57:31 AM UTC
re:updatecp.org
Interesting paths...
updatecp.org is hosted on IP: 208.110.88.94
with the PTR being: fingoods02.fortnex.comYou get the rogue scanner alert, fake scan and then a link to "erase threats"
Clicking on the link displays a popup for pay to download.
Clilcking on the checkout button you now enter:
hxxps://cart.secureorderstore.com/secureorder/ordertp.php
The Store shopping cart / checkout has the following hidden link:
hxxps://usd.swreg.org/cgi-bin/s.cgiThe footer of the store page states:
©2009 DR globalDirect, Inc.
DR is abbreviation for Digital River
The product you are to purchase is: Repair Registry 2008 <- hey! that's expired! this is 2009, LOL.
FYI a registry cleaner does NOT remove malicious content, it is NOT AV security software.- fortnex.com advertises:
- Imagine a Business Opportunity that offers you a way to
earn unlimited income without handling any inventory, selling
anything or even communicating with your own customers! A business
that's so easy that it doesn't require learning anything technical
and provides extensive support that Gets YOU Started Making Money
Right Away!
Every year, millions of dollars are paid to individuals, companies and cyber-preneurs for simply referring Internet visitors to the most popular websites. Now, thanks to the World Systems program, literally anyone can start making money the same way - and FAST!
The form at the bottom of the page requests:
Request Your FREE Information BelowAll Information is REQUIRED
First Name: Last Name:
Street Address: Apt/Suite #:
Country: State/Province:
Other State: City:
Zip/Postal Code: Email:
Primary Phone: Alternate Phone:
Gender: Male Female
Do you have home business experience? [Yes No]
How soon could you start?
How much time could you invest weekly?
Extra monthly income that you desire?
Investment to earn that income?
Why are you interested in
starting a home business?
At the footer it states:
Powered By TopAdMarket 2007 - 2008 All Rights Reserved | Advertising Affiliates |Links to:
hxxp://topadmarket.com/
hxxps://partners.topadmarket.com/affiliate_signup.htmlCurrently all IP's and domain names are unrated:
DIG:
- absolutecents.com
bestermo.com
bestshoppingdirectory.com
faith-shopping.com
flexinz.com
funshoppingonline.com
homeincs.com
kalderan.com
maddmail.com
mousetrade.com
mumento.com
onezman.com
servitro.com
wowextramoney.com
Name servers:
ns1.thunderoffers.com
ns2.thunderoffers.comip numbers of nameservers
69.50.212.19reverse names of the nameservers
announceman.com- domains sharing nameservers
- existomass.com
flexinz.com
growinz.com
kalderan.com
toedstool.com
tophomeu.com
wheelum.com
- fortnex.com subdomains:
- fingoods02.fortnex.com
land.fortnex.com
largefingoods.fortnex.com
link2.fortnex.com
myvir.fortnex.com
tek.fortnex.com
tek2.fortnex.com
tek3.fortnex.com
vps.fortnex.com
vps2.fortnex.com
thunderoffers.com
no info just a page that states, "IT WORKS!"- topadmarket.com
- The executive management team at TopAdMarket.com possesses
years of direct-response marketing experience across variety of
media arenas. Because of this, we are unique in our understanding
of the dynamics involved in producing quality traffic that will
result in consistent sales conversions for the end customer. We
understand the needs of high-volume customers.
Certain of our individual clients consume in excess of 50k real-time prospect leads from us per month. As an emerging network powerhouse, we are continually seeking relationships with key Internet publishers and affiliates to serve our clients. You can count on us to be a reliable partner with a focus upon working hard every day to earn your business. We diligently screen and qualify our applications to add only the best traffic and partnerships available. If you would like to become an advertiser with our network of websites and affiliates, or - if you are interested in publishing offers coming to our door every day, please take a moment to complete our application so that we can get acquainted.
To Your Future Successes, TopAdMarket.com Executive Team
topadmarket.com resides on IP: 65.23.159.186 reverse PTR is: rm-002-12.serve.com
nameservers used by this domain:
ns1.teknama.com
ns2.teknama.com- domains sharing nameservers
- absolutecents.com
absotal.com
advantagewebsales.com
affiliategoldminepackage.com
bbillyd.com
bestshoppingdirectory.com
blozi.com
bossfreedom.com
boydsonlineshopping.com
dastinct.com
deanwebmail.com
discountwebsales.com
easyjohn.com
easymaine.com
everlastingshop.com
expertshoppingonline.com
faith-shopping.com
ftrap.com
funshoppingonline.com
happyclicking.com
instrud.com
justmatts.com
loonieplanet.com
metrogenious.com
myhomebusinesscenter.com
opimas.com
pikfirst.com
prosperityprofile.com
sacrato.com
savoyshoppingcenter.com
scenterline.com
schroedershoppingcenter.net
sdfdsfds.com
selfimagestore.com
topenda.com
ultimatewebmall.com
weirock.com
winterdrift.com
wowextramoney.com
ip numbers of nameservers
66.197.177.21
69.50.210.160Incoming mail for topadmarket.com is handled by six mailservers having a total of 20 IP numbers. AKA: Google mail.
*******
Before rating these... the dig needs to be completed and the domains sorted as to what they offer; ie, phish, scam, malicious content, etc.
Before examining these domain, ensure you have your AV up to date and preferably use sandboxie or other form of sandbox/VM.
-------
WOT Services Ltd. - gives us safety through Web of Trust.
WOT Community - gives us security through unity.
Thank you all
- G7W -
- on Wed 21 Oct 2009
- 10:17:09 PM UTC
Thanks
Thanks everyone (especially "g7w") for the reviews. I just got the alert on Skype also. I was about to go to the site. But now that I know its a scam, I'm NOT gunna fall for it. Thanks to all who have spoken out on this. Its greatly appriciated. You guys rock!

http://www.updatecp.org/
Didn't see this on the board so I posted it. Same crap as I posted last time, different domain :)
Another drive by on SKYPE. I am vaguely curious as to how I get these as a system message. At any rate.....
Nigel
http://www.updatecp.org/