(The quickest way to register)

Forum

  1. User picture
    • lunboks on Thu 29 Oct 2009
    • 04:07:58 AM UTC

    Massive Google bomb in progress

    I just noticed this: Do a Google search for "borderlands ports pc" or variations. I figure a lot of people must be searching this since Borderlands (a game that just came out) requires you to manually open some ports.

    http://www.google.com/search?q=borderlands+ports+p...

    The results consist 100% of infected domains that serve redirects to malware (or sometimes cnn.com, for some reason).

Comments:

  1. User picture
    • angelopc on Thu 29 Oct 2009
    • 10:03:40 AM UTC

    Not Quite What You Got

    I ran the search and saw a variety of sies that were rated as safe. Yes, there were many that were dangerous, but not nearly all of them.

    Ed Coyne
    www.AngeloPC.com

  2. User picture
    • js9600 on Thu 29 Oct 2009
    • 02:33:41 PM UTC

    Is a useful observation

    Is a useful observation though since many will attempt to guess your keywords and SEO their way to the top - with not so great content. Is a big time hobby when it comes to malware, more consistent perhaps. Crappy reseller/affiliate links try to come across as real helping sites for example. That same tactic is seen with shiny new keyword, or opportunity, just shows importance of taking it easy at Google.com Anything unknown among 10-20 first hits should be checked out - may be through a Google search :)

  3. User picture
    • demonluo on Thu 29 Oct 2009
    • 09:42:55 PM UTC

    never visit an unknown (to

    never visit an unknown (to u) site w/o sandboxie (or any of it kind of virtual protection)...

  4. User picture
    • Warxas on Thu 29 Oct 2009
    • 10:18:44 PM UTC

    @angelopc

    To verify black-hat SEO posining you must be fast. In a few hours the malicious sites may be gone. ;)

    Now, what I found. I'm not sure about this, because I only checked quickly.

    The first result, miamibeachdj.com is malicious, said so by Google.
    I would not rate it red though, because it seems to be a victim. Since It has only had malicious content once in the past 90 days.

    The second result ufologie.net fourth eliboat.com and fifth arabsforchrist.org redirect to cnn.com.

    Results three and six are rated red in WOT.
    christinemaudy.com and becomingaradiologist.org

    So like lunbrooks said, I would avoid searching for borderlands ports pc, for a while! :D

  5. User picture
    • amishrabbit on Fri 30 Oct 2009
    • 04:51:13 AM UTC

    Gumblar-ed Web sites

    They all look like they've been hit with Gumblar, and are being promoted by BHSEO techniques.

    The sites all use the same URL patterns:

    example.com/?t=borderlands-pc-ports

    The Google bot is presented with a version of the site which contains only keywords -- check the Google cached version of the page. That's part of the SEO.

    I would like to say right now, for the record: the tards behind stuff like this are so unerringly dull it's unbelievable. I'm so *bored* of this.

  6. User picture
    • jpvip on Fri 30 Oct 2009
    • 05:49:44 AM UTC

    ^^ Like all are...

    I find all malware writers to be dumb. One way or the other, they seem to do something dumb, or even stupidly smart.

    Maybe some of the bigger malware is done by stupidly smart, but the rest are all dumb.

    ~DragonMaster Jay, malware researcher,
    Admin, helpmyos.com

  7. User picture
    • wehaveitall on Sat 31 Oct 2009
    • 12:23:38 AM UTC

    This post may help people

    WOT is pretty high in search results, and this post may eventually be on the first page, reducing the people who click the dangerous links.

    We rate the websites, the WOT staff creates, and advertises the add-on, and together, we make it all happen.