(The quickest way to register)

Forum

Dear visitor! The webpage is only available in English. We're sorry for the inconvenience.
  1. User picture
    • paul g on Thu 18 Mar 2010
    • 09:54:11 AM UTC

    Quickmediaconverter Trojan?

    Hi,all.Can somebody tell me if this is a false positive please..I have been using QuickMediaConverter from cocoonsoftware for some time now with no problems and it has a Green rating from WOT.Now a-squared Anti Malware has found this,
    Scan start: 18/03/2010 09:01:55

    C:\Program Files\QuickMediaConverter\QMC.exe detected: Trojan-Downloader.Win32.Agent.dbrn!A2

    Is this a false positive?
    Thanks for your time...cheers........p...............

    If You Dont Ask You Will Never Know..

Comments:

  1. User picture
    • Kraftwerk on Thu 18 Mar 2010
    • 10:34:22 AM UTC

    Re:

    I don´t know this prog. but you could check it here http://www.virustotal.com/

    Blueberrycake Level Member of the WOT Community

    • User picture
      • paul g on Thu 18 Mar 2010
      • 02:45:59 PM UTC

      No Results?

      Hi Blueberry Mountain thanks for your reply i had a look on virustotal and there where no results,So i dont know if it is safe or not?

      Thanks for your time........cheers........p..........

      If You Dont Ask You Will Never Know..

  2. User picture
    • g7w on Thu 18 Mar 2010
    • 08:49:29 PM UTC

    re: QuickMediaConverter

    Is this the software ?
    The file size is too large for virusTotal to scan (42.46MB)

    Since the file is available on many download sites, I would suspect that it is a FP and you should inform a-squared about the warning.

    -------
    WOT Services Ltd. - gives us safety through Web of Trust.
    WOT Community - gives us security through unity.
    Thank you all
    - G7W

    • User picture
      • Jazspeak on Thu 18 Mar 2010
      • 09:15:50 PM UTC

      available on many download sites

      If the software is available on many reputable download sites then it might be worth downloading a few examples into a sandbox from those different sites for size and checksum comparisons. Any discrepancies might possibly be attributed to the addition of a virus into the software.

    • User picture
      • paul g on Fri 19 Mar 2010
      • 09:06:07 AM UTC

      Yes thats the one.

      Hello g7w,Thanks for your reply yes thats the one but i downloaded it direct from cocoon software site. I think your right and it is an F/P as it was recomended by someone i trust better safe than sorry. Ill report it to A2..

      Thanks for your time........cheers.........p.................

      If You Dont Ask You Will Never Know..