(The quickest way to register)

Forum

Dear visitor! The webpage is only available in English. We're sorry for the inconvenience.
  1. User picture
    • phantazm on Tue 26 Aug 2008
    • 04:00:18 PM UTC

    Norton SafeWeb rates WOT dangerous..?

    I recently noticed that Norton had also joined the advisor field.
    But as I visited them today, I was quite surprised: WOT is RED!

    16 threats are supposed to lurk here; "Severity: High".
    Not just some nuisance factors, but directs threats
    that surfers would catch as "Drive-By Downloads"....?

    What the devil goes on here?!?
    Somebody should take a closer look,
    and resolve this absurd issue...

    Here's the link: http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=mywot.co...

    Location: Copenhagen, Denmark, Scandinavia, Europe. Languages: Danish, English (and a bit Norwegian and Swedish).

Comments:

  1. User picture
    • phantazm on Tue 26 Aug 2008
    • 04:28:53 PM UTC

    I forgot the details...

    Norton found 16 instances. Here is a sample:

    Threat Location on Site
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\net.exe
    http://www.mywot.com/.../ie
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\WScript.exe
    http://www.mywot.com/.../ie
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe
    http://www.mywot.com/.../ie
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\net1.exe
    http://www.mywot.com/.../ie
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\attrib.exe
    http://www.mywot.com/.../ie
    VIRUS:[26637]Downloader
    http://www.mywot.com/.../ie
    VIRUS:[11027]Trojan.Dropper
    http://www.mywot.com/.../ie
    VIRUS:[40673]Infostealer.Gampass
    http://www.mywot.com/.../ie
    C:\WINDOWS\ydsi.exe
    http://www.mywot.com/.../ie
    C:\WINDOWS\tbyr.exe
    http://www.mywot.com/.../ie

  2. User picture
    • lordpake on Tue 26 Aug 2008
    • 04:28:55 PM UTC

    Wild guess from my part:

    Wild guess from my part: people use active links when they post reports about malware?

    instead of using stuff like hXXp://something(dot)sometoplevelhere

    "Men make good pets."

    • User picture
      • phantazm on Tue 26 Aug 2008
      • 04:45:00 PM UTC

      You're probably right, but...

      You're probably right, but the rating is still silly.
      SiteAdvisor could be rated even more red, for the same reason.

      I rather think this shows that robots have their limitations
      compared to human reviewers... ;)

  3. User picture
    • Anonymous on Tue 26 Aug 2008
    • 05:02:33 PM UTC

    useless

    I think this new thing by Norton is useless, it shows safe sites as unsafe.

    for example weebly.com where I have my site dim1319.weebly.com; it do not show subdomain and the safaty data are old maybe too old

    http://www.symantec.com/security_response/writeup....

    "W32.Spybot.Worm
    Risk Level 2: Low

    Discovered: April 16, 2003
    Updated: November 30, 2007 10:19:46 AM
    "
    AntiVir Premium say that mywot.com and weebly.com are safe.

    Finally I do not seen something better than WOT.

    Greeting D.1319

  4. User picture
    • Timo on Tue 26 Aug 2008
    • 06:52:51 PM UTC

    Re: Norton Safe Web rates WOT

    I just registered to Norton Safe Web and looked at the review for mywot.com. The review said that our IE-download page contains drive by downloads, which clearly is not true.

    I asked Norton Safe Web to review our site again and correct the error in site rating. Let's see how long it takes them to change our rating.

  5. User picture
    • phantazm on Tue 26 Aug 2008
    • 07:07:44 PM UTC

    Let us hope they correct things fast...

    I also send a suggestion to them, after I discovered the feedback possibility.

    Timo: "Let's see how long it takes them to change our rating."

    Agree. It's a silly mistake, so it should be corrected soon. Let's hope so...

  6. User picture
    • Sami on Tue 26 Aug 2008
    • 08:35:07 PM UTC

    Re: Download page

    If they're worried about malware links, why would they flag the download page? I mean, that's one of the few pages on this site where there's never been any user content. Must a bug in Norton's crawler or something.

  7. User picture
    • Security_Wiz on Tue 26 Aug 2008
    • 09:59:43 PM UTC

    Rating

    They must have changed the rating yesterday, because two days ago it was clean and at 4.6/5.0.

    I've been a member of their forum for three months now, I'll inform them of the issue. Hope they change the ratings soon!

  8. User picture
    • Sami on Wed 27 Aug 2008
    • 06:07:18 AM UTC

    Re: Norton SafeWeb rates WOT dangerous..?

    Norton's rating for mywot.com now seems to have changed to "Untested".

  9. User picture
    • logicman on Wed 27 Aug 2008
    • 08:28:04 AM UTC

    Worse than useless.

    I just opened a new tab in Firefox and tried to see the latest Norton rating for myWOT.

    It crashed my browser. :-(

  10. User picture
    • Esa S. on Wed 27 Aug 2008
    • 01:31:00 PM UTC

    WOT is clean based on our own scanning with Norton 360!

    I just received a message from Timo and he had just finished scanning the WOT server and all our downloadables for viruses, spyware, and all possible types of malware. We used Norton 360 to do the full scan - oh yes, we use their products - and the result was that there is no malware! MyWOT.com is completely clean!

    This leads us to the next question: what caused this false alarm? What makes it more serious is that the result is based on their technical analysis, not user ratings. As you saw on their site, the user rating stayd throughout the process on the level 4.8 out of 5. The user rating is a totally isolated figure and doesn't seem to have anything to do with the Norton safety rating.

    Well, I hope that this was an accident. Doesn't give a good picture of the reliability of their security processes. Lets see what happens with WOT rating now!

  11. User picture
    • Timo on Wed 27 Aug 2008
    • 05:22:19 PM UTC

    Re: Norton SafeWeb rates WOT dangerous..?

    Norton has now changed the rating of WOT web site back to Safe.