(The quickest way to register)

Forum

Dear visitor! The webpage is only available in English. We're sorry for the inconvenience.
  1. User picture
    • Reprotected on Thu 04 Sep 2008
    • 12:04:35 PM UTC

    Rate xp-protection.com!

    Currently, xp-protection.com is left unrated, please rate it.

    I believe the website is dangerous or it contains malicious software.

    Retired.

Comments:

  1. User picture
    • lordpake on Thu 04 Sep 2008
    • 04:30:48 PM UTC

    Ou jeah! :D The download

    Ou jeah! :D The download leads to rogue site http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/securityscannersi...

    Rated both here/SA.

    Edit: also posted in MBAM roguenet forum, hopefully someone from the real antimalware folks pick it up and get it blacklisted :)

    "Men make good pets."

  2. User picture
    • BobJam (not verified) on Thu 04 Sep 2008
    • 05:34:34 PM UTC

    Wait a minute . . . wait a

    Wait a minute . . . wait a minute . . .

    Unless my browser is screwed up or I don't understand the ratings or I'm not understanding the post, that site that lordpake said was a rogue shows the WOT green donut.

    So if I saw that in a Google result, I probably would click on that link (I would here except lordpake said it was a rogue site) thinking that WOT had rated it as safe.

    If it's a rogue site, shouldn't the donut be red?? Or at least orange??

  3. User picture
    • lordpake on Thu 04 Sep 2008
    • 05:41:12 PM UTC

    Jam, I linked to SiteAdvisor

    Jam, I linked to SiteAdvisor report of the rogue site... in an effort to prove my point.

    WOT is not the only service of this kind in Internet ...

    Never ever link directly to rogue sites. If you want to visit the download location, feel free to copy that part of the address. I for one will not add to bad guy's google rank by posting links to their site!

    "Men make good pets."

  4. User picture
    • BobJam (not verified) on Thu 04 Sep 2008
    • 08:33:33 PM UTC

    OK . . . this was a real

    OK . . . this was a real duhhhh . . . moment for me. Now I see what you were doing.

  5. User picture
    • logicman on Thu 04 Sep 2008
    • 09:04:42 PM UTC

    Rated!

    This is exactly how malware reporting is supposed to work.

    Within minutes of first RFC* for a bad site, the information web starts up.
    Well before the day is over, the site is blocked for most users. Now it is up to the authorities to take down that site so as to protect people who don't use WOT, Google, hosts files or other blocking / reporting tools.

    This is the Web Of Trust algorithm demonstrated live. I love it.

    I was a bit late responding to this one, so thanks to all who were 'quick to kick' that nasty website.

    Nicely done! :-)

    *RFC = Request For Comments.

    edit: just posted a note at Castlecops, to 'spread the good news' even further. :-)

  6. User picture
    • lordpake on Thu 04 Sep 2008
    • 09:12:30 PM UTC

    BobJam, I try to be more not

    BobJam, I try to be not so concise next time :)

    After all, I tend to assume people operate at least with the same set of info I have :)

    Threads like this here are good, they hopefully help me avoid the "Ivory Tower" syndrome ^^

    "Men make good pets."

  7. User picture
    • logicman on Thu 04 Sep 2008
    • 09:12:37 PM UTC

    Re: assume people operate at least with the same set of info

    lordpake: never assume that "people operate at least with the same set of info".

    If they did that, all the lawyers would be out of business. lol :-)

  8. User picture
    • Reprotected on Sat 06 Sep 2008
    • 05:30:24 PM UTC

    New Website!

    windows-antivirus-2008.com should also be rated!

  9. User picture
    • logicman on Sat 06 Sep 2008
    • 06:53:11 PM UTC

    Re: windows-antivirus-2008.com

    Thanks for the 'heads-up' Reprotected.

    Job done! :-)

  10. User picture
    • Reprotected on Sun 07 Sep 2008
    • 03:56:26 PM UTC

    Another One...

    antispyware2008xp.com is another unrated website...

  11. User picture
    • logicman on Sun 07 Sep 2008
    • 04:17:55 PM UTC

    Another one bites the dust!

    Rated and reported!

    I doubt that site will be active for long. :-) :-) :-)

  12. User picture
    • Reprotected on Mon 08 Sep 2008
    • 07:36:57 PM UTC

    Redirection to Rogue Software and More Rogue!

    antispy2008.com - Redirection
    antispy2009.com - Redirection

    antispy2008.net - Rogue (also a ripoff picture of SpywareDoctor)

  13. User picture
    • logicman on Mon 08 Sep 2008
    • 09:44:58 PM UTC

    Sorted!

    Despite the '2009' tag, the main culprits were reported elsewhere some time ago.

    These and some other links, associates and redirects are now flagged.

    Thanks, reprotected. Race you to the next one? :-)

  14. User picture
    • logicman on Tue 09 Sep 2008
    • 07:48:34 PM UTC

    And another 2008 malware site.

    go4soft.net needs more ratings - reported elsewhere.

    Delta-Surfer1319, GACHAG and lordpake, you all beat me to anti-virus-xp.net - well done!

  15. User picture
    • Reprotected on Tue 09 Sep 2008
    • 08:39:59 PM UTC

    No time to race

    Since I'm only 14, yes, I'm a teenager, and I have school, I seriously don't have time to rate too many website, gotta hate the homework... Maybe weekends. When I have time to use a whois and type random website names, like xp-protection (dot) com.

  16. User picture
    • logicman on Wed 10 Sep 2008
    • 01:50:02 AM UTC

    Re: no time to race.

    Reprotected: no offence meant, just a bit of silly fun.

    I never realised you were a teenager - nobody would from your ratings.

    btw, I don't type random site names - I have a junk mail address, and these idiotic spammers are crazy enough to email me their URL every time they set up a new scam! :)

    Have fun, but stay safe!

  17. User picture
    • Security_Wiz on Sat 13 Sep 2008
    • 04:33:39 PM UTC

    More Websites

    These websites appeared in Google and Ixquick sponsor results:

    Free-Scan-Antivirus.com- Unrated
    AVG-Download-Free.net- Rated, but not much
    Antivirus-Pro-2008.com- Rated, but hardly

  18. User picture
    • Security_Wiz on Mon 15 Sep 2008
    • 08:20:18 PM UTC

    More Websites

    These websites appeared in Google/Ixquick results.

    destroy-adware.com
    kaitou-anti-uin.org
    idifpro.com
    allsoftware.org
    yourpcprotection.com

    Most of these sound bogus to me. One even advertises one of the malicious websites I have listed in the last post.

  19. User picture
    • logicman on Mon 15 Sep 2008
    • 08:48:13 PM UTC

    And a few more:

    Security Wiz: I'll check them out asap

    Here's some more I haven't checked yet, but will soon:

    Stop-Sign.com
    download-antivirus-now.com
    mystarware.com
    starware.com
    QuickPCSolutions.org
    NoAdware-Pro.com
    pcregistryrelief.com
    PcScanOnline.com
    tescodigital.com
    updatesregistry.com

    Caution to the casual reader:
    the sites listed in this thread are dangerous or suspect,
    and may seriously damage your Windows installation !
    Please avoid them!

    My mission statement:
    I will boldly go, where only spammers have gone before.