(The quickest way to register)

Forum

Dear visitor! The webpage is only available in English. We're sorry for the inconvenience.
  1. User picture
    • shazza on Thu 06 Aug 2009
    • 11:44:06 PM UTC

    'You Have Been Named And Shamed‏'

    This is a copy of an email I was forwarded earlier:
    -----Original Message-----
    From: Philip [mailto:philip@quality-products-now.com]
    Subject: [SPAM][SPAM] You Have Been Named And Shamed
    View this email as Webpage
    gives
    detailed information on people such as paedophiles, terrorists and murderers
    and these are but a few of the categories. It also contains photographs and
    addresses of disgraced people in the UK.
    If you wish to check out the details we have been given on you, then I
    suggest you click on to TheRatBook.com

    Yours Faithfully

    Ivan and The Rat Book team
    to start the
    process for email deletion.
    This correspondence may be a newsletter, press release, solicitation or
    advertisement. We encourage and support best practices in responsible email
    marketing.

Comments:

  1. User picture
    • shazza on Thu 06 Aug 2009
    • 11:47:27 PM UTC

    rest of post....

    quality-products-now.com is already red but only has 1 comment on spam (g7w)
    theratbook.com is grey

    This looks like a shameful scam to me

  2. User picture
    • phantazm on Fri 07 Aug 2009
    • 01:51:28 AM UTC

    How low can they go..?

    How do we know that philip@quality-products-now.com is the real sender;
    Aren't "sender" almost always false..?

    Then again, have you considered if that mail might be a joe job..?

  3. User picture
    • shazza on Fri 07 Aug 2009
    • 02:40:56 AM UTC

    "How do we know that..."

    I dont know until I get sent the email headers, but
    5 links in email lead to ratbook.com - click on wot symbols I get
    http://www.mywot.com/en/scorecard/quality-products...
    Also see htxx://quality-products-now.com/view.php/524771/14419965

  4. User picture
    • g7w on Fri 07 Aug 2009
    • 03:26:41 AM UTC

    quality-products-now.com

    quality-products-now.com
    on it's own doesn't load (no index.php | index.htm/l | etc)

    robtex

    quality-products-now.com is a domain controlled by two nameservers at quality-products-now.com themselves. Two nameservers have the same IP number. Incoming mail for quality-products-now.com is handled by one mailserver having a total of four IP numbers. All of them are on the same IP network. quality-products-now.com has four IP numbers. All of them are on the same IP network. quality-products-now.com use this as a mailserver.

    quality-products-now.com
    LISTED IN BLACKLIST!
    multi.surbl.org
    67.210.105.104
    LISTED IN BLACKLIST!
    ivmSIP
    b.barracudacentral.org
    spam.dnsbl.sorbs.net
    bl.spamcannibal.org
    dnsbl-1.uceprotect.net
    67.210.105.105
    LISTED IN BLACKLIST!
    13 days, threat score 20, suspicious
    Project Honeypot
    b.barracudacentral.org
    spam.dnsbl.sorbs.net
    bl.spamcannibal.org
    dnsbl-1.uceprotect.net
    67.210.105.248
    LISTED IN BLACKLIST!
    b.barracudacentral.org
    spam.dnsbl.sorbs.net
    bl.spamcannibal.org
    dnsbl-1.uceprotect.net
    67.210.105.249
    LISTED IN BLACKLIST!
    b.barracudacentral.org
    bl.spamcannibal.org

    Given this... I'd say Shazza's got it right, the spam originated from: quality-products-now.com

    Rate RED
    Spam
    Known Spammer, blacklisted on several spam lists

    quality-products-now.com
    67.210.105.104
    67.210.105.105
    67.210.105.248
    67.210.105.249

    As for theratbook.com
    (did they misspell threat during registration? :)
    without the original email/headers... who knows, this might be the sender or it might be someone else pretending to be this domain.
    I'll rate it low for child safety, there does exist sexual explicit content, but most everything requires a "premium account" aka, registration for "access" though, most of what I see offered there, I've already seen on www.wimp.com
    -------
    Against Intuition - gives us safety through Web of Trust.
    WOT Community - gives us security through unity.
    Thank you all
    - G7W

  5. User picture
    • phantazm on Fri 07 Aug 2009
    • 03:38:02 AM UTC

    Well...

    Just visited quality-products-now.com/view.php/524771/14419965

    Looks like you've got a copy of their standard pr mail; however the content is not so 'standard': "paedophiles, terrorists and murderers". Definitely not a site "safe for children", imo.

    To me it looks like a spam variety, of the nastier kind...

    PS: Let's see what the email headers reveal...

  6. User picture
    • shazza on Fri 07 Aug 2009
    • 08:12:19 PM UTC

    Headers show :

    Received: from [67.210.105.248] (helo=quality-products-now.com)
    by exim9.blueyonder.co.uk with esmtp (Exim 4.68)
    (envelope-from philip@quality-products-now.com)

    -IP listed by g7w.