(The quickest way to register)

Forum

Dear visitor! The webpage is only available in English. We're sorry for the inconvenience.
  1. User picture
    • Anonymous on Tue 01 Sep 2009
    • 07:10:44 PM UTC

    Craigslist spam?

    Just got an email, and am wondering how this person got my "interest in security":

    "Hi Bob, I see that you have an interest in Security. Thought you would
    want to test out this new company, TrustMe.com, that launched on
    Monday. I can send you the press release, below is a snippet. Here is
    a sign up link if you're interested: http://www.trustme.com/p/VEX72R .

    About TrustMe.com
    TrustMe.com, the first comprehensive online security solution for
    Craigslist buyers and sellers, saves time and reduces the risk and
    anxiety of transacting on Craigslist. TrustMe.com’s security platform
    verifies identities and provides a safe portal for communicating and
    transacting. TrustMe.com was built and is maintained by leading online
    security industry experts. Signing up for a TrustMe.com account takes
    five minutes at http://www.TrustMe.com .

    Best,
    Ashley Biever
    TrustMe.com
    310-776-0322
    ashley@trustme.com
    @AshleySays
    "

    Am certainly not going to sign up. and I searched here for "Craigslist" and "TrustMe.com", and got nothing pertinent to this issue. The scorecard on TrustMe.com is green in trustworthiness and child safety, but unrated in privacy and vendor reliability. There are no user comments.

    I have no idea who this "Ashley Biever" person is.

    Looks like spam.

    Interestingly, if it's a "new company . . . that launched on Monday" . . . yesterday, a week ago, what? . . . then they got rated pretty fast.

    Still, my main question is how did my "interest in security" trigger this? (I've never used Craigslist, so that can't be it).

    Will have to dig some on this, but was wondering if anybody has a clue on this right now.

Comments:

  1. User picture
    • Sami on Tue 01 Sep 2009
    • 07:38:00 PM UTC

    Re: Craigslist spam?

    One way to track how spammers found your email address is to use a different address for each service you use. Email providers often support address aliases, which are convenient for this purpose, for example. Of course, I suppose spammers could always strip everything after the '+' character...

    Btw, the trustme.com domain was registered in 1996. Perhaps it has changed owners recently?

    • User picture
      • BobJam (not verified) on Tue 01 Sep 2009
      • 07:52:30 PM UTC

      FF Spamavert add on

      I did have the FF spamavert add on there for a while, but when I got sidetracked with Ubuntu stuff and had to reinstall FF, I started out with a clean profile again and haven't put the spamavert add on back in yet.

      I probably could have put my old profile back in, but I purposely didn't because I wanted to trim down my add ons and just put in what I needed to use. My old profile was pretty cluttered up with stuff I maybe used just once. (I DID put the WOT add on back in of course).

      Gotta put that spamavert add on back in . . . of course that's like closing the barn door after the horse got out on this one.

  2. User picture
    • g7w on Wed 02 Sep 2009
    • 03:34:21 AM UTC

    from Archive.org to myspace.com

    archive.org

    The last page archived on the WayBackMachine was dated: June 28th 2007
    Trustme.com is an Alternative News site with no censorship. It's completely FREE to be part of our community
    Internet Archive has pages listed back to December 30th, 1996
    Marc A. Biederman
    Attorney at Law

    Why The Living Trust Makes Wills Obsolete

    From the lawyer's living will page to "StereoStones" to the "TrustMe News" - you can view the pages from 1996 - 2007
    I suppose from July 2007 - present, the robots.txt file prohibits the domain from spiders for site indexing and archiving.
    For those interested, www.stereostone.com

    myspace.com

    The Fox profile
    I'm a "Foxy" guy with a 22" tail !!

    Male
    28 years old
    Los Angeles, California
    United States

    Last Login: 12/3/2008

    The Fox's Companies
    TrustMe.Com
    Los Angeles, CA US
    Owner

    It appears the TrustMe News site dissolved at the end of 2008 and became the new "Craigslist Security / Identity Verification service"

    I would be highly skeptical, they reference many "As seen in" on the homepage, but no links are provided, and the About Us page that lists News and Press Releases fail to mention any of these "reviews" - you'd think they would have them all linked.

    Craigslist.com makes no reference of this site or it's services, you would think they would seek approval by the site whose users they are "protecting."

    The only "news" articles found on the Net are those provided to different sources from TrustMe.com - they all pretty much read the same.

    Now here's the thing, trustme.com can only protect you against other people who are paying for their services and provide their PII, anyone who is not in TrustMe's database is a potential fraud, even the innocent and genuine folks who have never heard of this service, or are willing to pay a third party ($5 - $15 per month) for use of a free service. My wife's on Craigslist almost daily and she's never heard of this service and when I showed it to her she laughingly said, "there's another one wanting your money..."

    -------
    Against Intuition - gives us safety through Web of Trust.
    WOT Community - gives us security through unity.
    Thank you all
    - G7W

  3. User picture
    • BobJam (not verified) on Thu 03 Sep 2009
    • 02:55:23 AM UTC

    Sounds a little like AT

    @g7w,

    "Trustme.com is an Alternative News site with no censorship"
    That is eerily similar to AT with regard to the "no censorship" part. I doubt if they're connected, but the similarity IS there.

    So if your wife visits Craigslist regularly, should I forward this email to her? (Just kidding, of course).

    Still wondering how in the heck I got connected to Craigslist . . . I mean, I couldn't even tell you what the site looks like. Never been there.

    Thanks for the due diligence research. Definitely looks like a piece of spam.

    Still have the email . . . may take a look at the header info and see if I can figure something out, though it may be legitimately from TrustMe.com . . . it may just be that THEY are spammers. Was not solicited, so it fits that part of spamming.

    BTW, this reminds me of that issue you had with some PC Magazine sending you some "unsolicited" emails. If I recall correctly, you never could figure out how you got on their list.

    • User picture
      • g7w on Thu 03 Sep 2009
      • 03:06:12 AM UTC

      yeah

      I remember that Mag Subscription, still get it but it's automatically sent to my spam folder. The gmail account it uses gets around 1000+ spam mails daily. When I log in, I just delete "All" and forget about it. That discussion sure did have YoKenny in an uproar though.

      Your email stated "security" as a keyword more so than "Craigslist" so...
      Maybe they have you from a 3rd party shared email distribution [spam] list?
      -------
      Against Intuition - gives us safety through Web of Trust.
      WOT Community - gives us security through unity.
      Thank you all
      - G7W

      • User picture
        • BobJam (not verified) on Thu 03 Sep 2009
        • 03:38:50 AM UTC

        Must be an old list . . .

        I haven't registered on any forums, with the exception of Ubuntu (and I highly doubt they would be selling a list . . . possible but very unlikely) in the last year or so, consequently if it's from a list where I registered for a security site, it has to be an old list I would think.

        And in any malware/rating efforts I've done recently, I wouldn't have left my gmail address. Since I haven't had spamavert since I switched over to Ubuntu (just haven't gotten around to it . . . it's not any incompatibility issue with Ubuntu), I haven't really done any in depth spam rating efforts in several months anyway.

        So I'm at a loss to guess what "security" site may have sold a spam list with my gmail address on it.

        BTW, I do remember YoKenny's hissy fit about your PC mag spam issue. Pleasant fellow sometimes, but he sure could get his bowels in an uproar if you mentioned FF, Avira, or IE7Pro.