(The quickest way to register)

Forum

Dear visitor! The webpage is only available in English. We're sorry for the inconvenience.
  1. User picture
    • Steven Avery on Fri 05 Mar 2010
    • 01:27:56 PM UTC

    google warnings

    Hi Folks,

    Google sometimes gives warnings on sites, and I wonder if they are simply confused. Either the site is politically incorrect (e.g. pro King James Bible) or they are doing optional techie stuff (e.g web hosting)-- that is misinterpreted by the google bot.

    http://www.wilderness-cry.net (fine on WOT and McAfee) is the latest example

    Warning - visiting this web site may harm your computer!

    e.g. I put in the search
    "impure text" bible vulgate "forever settled" wilderness

    And the wilderness site comes up as one of two entries.
    "This site may harm your computer."

    Any idea why Google would have an alarm? Considering the impact of Google, their warnings are extremely intimidating and can almost destroy a website.

    Shalom,
    Steven Avery
    Queens, NY

Comments:

  1. User picture
    • MysteryFCM on Fri 05 Mar 2010
    • 02:38:21 PM UTC

    .....

    Malicious script on realpreaching.html that leads to;

    hxxp://tlca.com/phlist_templates/index-sept-2007.php

    Contains a not so lovely exploit.

    Regards
    Steven Burn
    Ur I.T. Mate Group / hpHosts
    it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

    • User picture
      • MysteryFCM on Fri 05 Mar 2010
      • 03:17:36 PM UTC

      ....

      I've dropped the sites owner and hosting co an e-mail concerning this btw.

      Regards
      Steven Burn
      Ur I.T. Mate Group / hpHosts
      it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

  2. User picture
    • Demiann on Sun 07 Mar 2010
    • 06:34:51 AM UTC

    Google no se equivoca.

    Hola

    Esos sitios aparecen asi porque han sido infectados, con solo entrar el malware incluido en la pagina puede utilizar por ejemplo una secuencia en java script para infectar.

    La pagina puede ser segura, pero esto no impide que sea secuestrada o hackeada.

    Si usted conoce la pagina como segura, comuniquese con el administrador y adviertale para que la limpie, de todos modos le recomiendo que no entre hasta que google saque el aviso para que no infecte su sistema.

    Saludos!

  3. User picture
    • Steven Avery on Sat 13 Mar 2010
    • 07:31:09 PM UTC

    current status ?

    Thanks, Steve.

    Can you let us know the current status. Did something wrong seem deliberate ? DId they respond ? It sounds like a hacker intrusion may have been involved based on the spanish post.

    Incidentally, can you tell if that exploit something is particularly targeted for a lightly guarded IE ?

    Shalom,
    Steven

  4. User picture
    • g7w on Sun 14 Mar 2010
    • 04:52:12 AM UTC

    re: wilderness-cry.net

    SafeBrowsing.org has had it listed 13 times during the past 90 days for:

    What is the current listing status for wilderness-cry.net?
    This site is not currently listed as suspicious.
    Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 13 time(s) over the past 90 days.
    What happened when Google visited this site?
    Of the 151 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 49 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2010-03-12, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2010-03-12.

    Malicious software includes 40 scripting exploit(s), 39 exploit(s), 22 trojan(s). Successful infection resulted in an average of 1 new process(es) on the target machine.

    Malicious software is hosted on 1 domain(s), including tlca.com/
    This site was hosted on 2 network(s) including AS25973 (MZIMA), AS8001 (NET)

    If it were to be "currently listed" I would see the Reported attack Site warning screen in Firefox. I think IE is starting to do the same sort of warning but I'm not sure "who" they use or get their "warnings" from.

    SafeBrowsing is Google but it lists sites found on StopBadWare.org
    Here is the page for wilderness-cry.net
    There are 5 listings (URLs) associated with this domain.

    It looks as if they may have been compromised. That is partly their fault (or their web host) for not properly securing their web server from attack. It doesn't matter... if your site serves Trojans, and infects other PC's it must be blocked.

    When I rate a site based on Google's SafeBrowsing and the owner PM's me for removal, I recheck SafeBrowsing. I do not remove my rating / comment until Google reports 0 listings for 90 days, like this one

    peace,
    -------
    WOT Services Ltd. - gives us safety through Web of Trust.
    WOT Community - gives us security through unity.
    Thank you all
    - G7W