(The quickest way to register)

Forum

Dear visitor! The webpage is only available in English. We're sorry for the inconvenience.
  1. User picture
    • shazza on Sat 13 Mar 2010
    • 09:31:20 AM UTC

    Tax Refund / Bank Phishing

    An email I received earlier allegedly from hmrc.gov.uk, but actually from jfq.jfqueluz.local
    ([81.193.248.252])

    "Tax Refund Notification
    After the last annual calculations of your fiscal activity, we have determined that you are eligible to receive a tax refund of 988.50 GBP.
    Please submit the tax refund request and allow us 2-3 days in order to process it.
    Click Here
    to submit you tax refund request
    Note : A refund can be delayed a variety of reasons, for example submitting invalid records or applying after deadline.
    Best Regards
    HM Revenue & Customs
    © Crown Copyright
    Terms & conditions
    Privacy policy"

    Email directs to 'namkumi.org/kimson/_upload/popup/index.html', then to
    'ifsb.co.kr/bbs/data/__zbSessionTMP/folder/-/-/-/-/-/-/-/-/-/-/-/-/-/-/-/-/-/-/-/-/folder/New Folder/United2/Folder/Folder/Folder/Folder/Folder/Folder/Folder/empty/empty/empty/United2/United/United/United/index.htm', where you find links to Lloyds, Halifax,
    Abbey, HSBC, Cahoot, RBS, Egg, Nat West & Alliance & Leicester Banks!
    namkumi.org
    ifsb.co.kr

    phishtank link for verification

Comments:

  1. User picture
    • Jazspeak on Sat 13 Mar 2010
    • 03:44:21 PM UTC

    tax refund request

    This sort of e-mail phishing is immediately identified as a scam because HMRC never send notifications of tax refunds to come. HMRC does the maths and if you have overpayed tax then HMRC send a cheque. Also, I never been sent an e-mail by HMRC, and I have certainly never seen HMRC use "Best Regards" on any of their communications.

    Clearly the scammer isn't familiar with the UK tax regime, nor with the fact that most UK tax-payers are on Pay As You Earn (PAYE) and all PAYE tax matters are dealt with by the employer's accounts department, whilst self-employed people tend to leave all tax matters to their Accountant.

  2. User picture
    • g7w on Sun 14 Mar 2010
    • 03:44:35 AM UTC

    210.102.34.19

    IP: 210.102.34.19 - robtex
    is found in the following blacklists:
    dev.null.dk
    spamsources.fabel.dk
    korea.services.net
    no-more-funn.moensted.dk
    holds 2 domains:
    ifsb.co.kr
    namkumi.org

    I can not view: namkumi.org
    OpenDNS has it blocked for Phishing
    re: http://phish.opendns.com/?url=namkumi.org

    can anyone post a screen cap for namkumi.org
    Interesting whois results for registrant name on Google

    -------
    WOT Services Ltd. - gives us safety through Web of Trust.
    WOT Community - gives us security through unity.
    Thank you all
    - G7W

  3. User picture
    • shazza on Sun 14 Mar 2010
    • 11:24:22 AM UTC

    namkumi.org

    namkumi.org


    google translate / namkumi.org


    • User picture
      • g7w on Sun 14 Mar 2010
      • 02:24:01 PM UTC

      thank you

      Appears this site might be compromised as well; these images do not look like they are Phishing for anything...

  4. User picture
    • amishrabbit on Mon 15 Mar 2010
    • 08:25:31 PM UTC

    Seen this one before

    Referenced here:

    http://blog.webroot.com/2010/02/10/tax-themed-phis...

    "the page tells you to “click on your bank’s logo to continue” and then lists the logo of ten major banks in the UK: Barclays, Lloyds TSB, Halifax, Abbey, HSBC, Cahoot, RBS, Egg, NatWest, and Alliance Leicester."

    • User picture
      • Jazspeak on Mon 15 Mar 2010
      • 09:42:13 PM UTC

      bank’s logo

      I really can't see from this as to how anybody could be taken in by this type of scam. Firstly, no reputable business would display bank logos in this manner because legitimate secure payment sites do not need to display bank logos, and secondly, hovering over any of the logos would show the destination address before clicking on the link, and the link address would obviously not be for a real bank. In Firefox the link address shows on the bottom left of the browser window when hovering the cursor over a link.

      Whilst it is good for WOT users to highlight this sort of scam, I fail to see how any but the most gullible would be taken in.