Comments on websites

ユーザーの写真

avast! reports virus on hpHosts blog

I went to read hpHosts blog just now and received this warning!
Sign of "JS:Redirector-H7 [Trj]" has been found in "hxxp://hphosts.blogspot.com/\{gzip}" file.

ユーザーの写真

Re: avast! reports virus on hpHosts blog

I'm sure it's a false positive. What's the "/\{gzip}" file? Does that mean this was detected from the compressed page sent by the web server?

ユーザーの写真

MalwareBytes'

MalwareBytes.org was hit last week with a re-direct. They warned us from their front page and asked to keep directing traffic their way that it would be resolved quickly. I had to visit today and it must have been solved because my bookmarked links all worked again.
it could be possible that they have turned their attention to HpHost.

Athlonite

Your help is always needed.

ユーザーの写真

False Positive

All av,s make false positives occasionaly.Suppose its better than a negative positive.(G.O.M.with Honours).

ユーザーの写真

I reported the false positive to avast!

Now I will wait to hear what they respond back to me.

ユーザーの写真

It looks like the blog is showing an example of a virus

It looks like the blog is showing an example of a virus triggering avast! with an infection warning.

ユーザーの写真

Yep ....

... tis the documentation on the Gumblar/Martuz infection that's triggering it. As I said last time, Avast is technically correct in flagging it as it is malicious code - the fact it's posted "safely" (i.e. it doesn't actually load) isn't checked by Avast.

Regards
Steven Burn
Ur I.T. Mate Group / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

ユーザーの写真

Keywords?

Could Avast be hitting on keywords in the URL or is it the body of the web page....or both?

ユーザーの写真

...

Hopefully it's hitting on the code itself (I'd be very concerned if it was hitting on keywords)

Regards
Steven Burn
Ur I.T. Mate Group / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

ユーザーの写真

I was hoping you would say that

Keywords would be a bit too aggressive and possibly damaging.

ユーザーの写真

FYI

It's only a partial F/P. Chances are they're picking up on the code outlined in the following post;

http://hphosts.blogspot.com/2009/05/martuzcn-aka-g...

This isn't the first time this has happened and I doubt it'll be the last ;o)

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=38715.0

Regards
Steven Burn
Ur I.T. Mate Group / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

ユーザーの写真

Me too

Set mine off also.

http://hphosts.blogspot.com/2009/05/martuzcn-aka-gumblar-and-wordpress-does.html\{gzip}

ユーザーの写真

dose this mean.

Hi,allDose this mean that this only happens if i go to their forum or the hphosts program? Sorry if this is a stupid question but i dont understand the tech talk.
I have hphosts and Avast and Avast has'nt found anything........

Thanks for your time...........cheers........p...........

If You Dont Ask You Will Never Know..

ユーザーの写真

Its on the hpHost blog

Its on the hpHost blog

This is a blog like forum and heaven forbid that it became infected with the common Web site infection that is prevalent right now and avast! is doing an admirable job of detecting then avast! would alert me that I should not stay here.

A couple of forums that I use very occasionaly were infected and I contacted their owners and they quicky corrected the situation.

Wow, the sun is out after 4 days of cloud and rain.

ユーザーの写真

Perfectly Safe

Its if you go to hoHosts paul but it is perfectly safe to do so has it is a false positive.Meaning the av thinks its a virus but its not.(G.O.M.with Honours).

ユーザーの写真

Perfectly Safe.

Hey, cod head.Thanks a lot for your quick reply and shedding some light on that for me.
Thanks for your time.........cheers...........p...........

If You Dont Ask You Will Never Know..

ユーザーの写真

...

For reference;

http://hphosts.blogspot.com/2008/09/avs-throwing-v...

Regards
Steven Burn
Ur I.T. Mate Group / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

ユーザーの写真

There is a discussion about Script blocker in avast!

Script Blocker mystery
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=45438.0

I know you like a Mystery Steven. :)

ユーザーの写真

??

What's the mystery? (reading it, it seems pretty clear as far as the function of the script blocker, and it's hierarchy as far as internals usage is concerned (i.e. how far between the chain (Web > client) it is based))

Regards
Steven Burn
Ur I.T. Mate Group / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

ユーザーの写真

The mistery

The mystery is why dude2 does not understand about Script Blocker.

Or maybe I don't understand what he does not understand.

ユーザーの写真

....

hehe that's an easy one ...... it's because he's not technically inclined, and the descriptions of it, aren't being presented in plain "newb" English.

Regards
Steven Burn
Ur I.T. Mate Group / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net