Comments on websites

Imagem do usuário

avast! reports virus on hpHosts blog

I went to read hpHosts blog just now and received this warning!
Sign of "JS:Redirector-H7 [Trj]" has been found in "hxxp://hphosts.blogspot.com/\{gzip}" file.

Imagem do usuário

Re: avast! reports virus on hpHosts blog

I'm sure it's a false positive. What's the "/\{gzip}" file? Does that mean this was detected from the compressed page sent by the web server?

Imagem do usuário

MalwareBytes'

MalwareBytes.org was hit last week with a re-direct. They warned us from their front page and asked to keep directing traffic their way that it would be resolved quickly. I had to visit today and it must have been solved because my bookmarked links all worked again.
it could be possible that they have turned their attention to HpHost.

Athlonite

Your help is always needed.

Imagem do usuário

False Positive

All av,s make false positives occasionaly.Suppose its better than a negative positive.(G.O.M.with Honours).

Imagem do usuário

I reported the false positive to avast!

Now I will wait to hear what they respond back to me.

Imagem do usuário

It looks like the blog is showing an example of a virus

It looks like the blog is showing an example of a virus triggering avast! with an infection warning.

Imagem do usuário

Yep ....

... tis the documentation on the Gumblar/Martuz infection that's triggering it. As I said last time, Avast is technically correct in flagging it as it is malicious code - the fact it's posted "safely" (i.e. it doesn't actually load) isn't checked by Avast.

Regards
Steven Burn
Ur I.T. Mate Group / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Imagem do usuário

Keywords?

Could Avast be hitting on keywords in the URL or is it the body of the web page....or both?

Imagem do usuário

...

Hopefully it's hitting on the code itself (I'd be very concerned if it was hitting on keywords)

Regards
Steven Burn
Ur I.T. Mate Group / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Imagem do usuário

I was hoping you would say that

Keywords would be a bit too aggressive and possibly damaging.

Imagem do usuário

FYI

It's only a partial F/P. Chances are they're picking up on the code outlined in the following post;

http://hphosts.blogspot.com/2009/05/martuzcn-aka-g...

This isn't the first time this has happened and I doubt it'll be the last ;o)

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=38715.0

Regards
Steven Burn
Ur I.T. Mate Group / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Imagem do usuário

Me too

Set mine off also.

http://hphosts.blogspot.com/2009/05/martuzcn-aka-gumblar-and-wordpress-does.html\{gzip}

Imagem do usuário

dose this mean.

Hi,allDose this mean that this only happens if i go to their forum or the hphosts program? Sorry if this is a stupid question but i dont understand the tech talk.
I have hphosts and Avast and Avast has'nt found anything........

Thanks for your time...........cheers........p...........

If You Dont Ask You Will Never Know..

Imagem do usuário

Its on the hpHost blog

Its on the hpHost blog

This is a blog like forum and heaven forbid that it became infected with the common Web site infection that is prevalent right now and avast! is doing an admirable job of detecting then avast! would alert me that I should not stay here.

A couple of forums that I use very occasionaly were infected and I contacted their owners and they quicky corrected the situation.

Wow, the sun is out after 4 days of cloud and rain.

Imagem do usuário

Perfectly Safe

Its if you go to hoHosts paul but it is perfectly safe to do so has it is a false positive.Meaning the av thinks its a virus but its not.(G.O.M.with Honours).

Imagem do usuário

Perfectly Safe.

Hey, cod head.Thanks a lot for your quick reply and shedding some light on that for me.
Thanks for your time.........cheers...........p...........

If You Dont Ask You Will Never Know..

Imagem do usuário

...

For reference;

http://hphosts.blogspot.com/2008/09/avs-throwing-v...

Regards
Steven Burn
Ur I.T. Mate Group / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Imagem do usuário

There is a discussion about Script blocker in avast!

Script Blocker mystery
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=45438.0

I know you like a Mystery Steven. :)

Imagem do usuário

??

What's the mystery? (reading it, it seems pretty clear as far as the function of the script blocker, and it's hierarchy as far as internals usage is concerned (i.e. how far between the chain (Web > client) it is based))

Regards
Steven Burn
Ur I.T. Mate Group / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Imagem do usuário

The mistery

The mystery is why dude2 does not understand about Script Blocker.

Or maybe I don't understand what he does not understand.

Imagem do usuário

....

hehe that's an easy one ...... it's because he's not technically inclined, and the descriptions of it, aren't being presented in plain "newb" English.

Regards
Steven Burn
Ur I.T. Mate Group / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

© WOT Services patente pendente