(The quickest way to register)

Forum

  1. User picture
    • sebsauvage on Wed 02 Sep 2009
    • 12:18:44 PM UTC

    Why sk1project.org red ?

    Why is the sk1projet.org domain listed as red ?
    http://www.mywot.com/scorecard/sk1project.org

    It hosts a good opensource vector conversion program, and I never had a single problem with it.

    It looks like DNS-BH listed this domain as rogue, but I don't understand why.

    Could someone shed a light on this ?

    This website should be rated green.

Comments:

  1. User picture
    • MysteryFCM on Wed 02 Sep 2009
    • 12:33:11 PM UTC

    ...

    http://ddanchev.blogspot.com/2009/07/social-engine...

    Regards
    Steven Burn
    Ur I.T. Mate Group / hpHosts
    it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

  2. User picture
    • sebsauvage on Wed 02 Sep 2009
    • 01:17:44 PM UTC

    I still don't understanr why

    I still don't understanr why sk1project.org is mentionned in this list.
    They have nothing to do with the distribution of dodgy codecs. They never did.

    It looks like their nameserver is associated with malware distribution:
    http://www.robtex.com/dns/ns1.alvobs.com.html#shar...

    This is unfair, because the sk1 project itself is clean.

    Should a website be classified "red" just because some rogue companies use the same DNSes ?

    • User picture
      • Reprotected on Thu 03 Sep 2009
      • 12:54:34 AM UTC

      Fairness?

      Umm, that's the whole point, because some companies rate it RED, it is RED. Rate it yourself and you will affect the ratings.

      Just MyWOT and SpywareBlaster, I guess... Found a malicious or fraudulent website? Rate it at WOT ASAP! Found a game hacker? Report it to the game's anti-cheat team! Infected with a virus? Delete it with an antivirus =P

  3. User picture
    • sebsauvage on Thu 03 Sep 2009
    • 07:50:32 AM UTC

    Trouble.

    The trouble is: DNS-BH listed as red, and every WOT user rated it red because DNS-BH rated it red, not because they experienced anything bad with the site itself.

    Users should rate a site according to their experience with the site, not only on one unverified claim. And that's what happened.

  4. User picture
    • sebsauvage on Tue 08 Sep 2009
    • 07:59:18 AM UTC

    I insist: Please rate green

    I insist:

    If you gave a bad rating to sk1project.org solely based on the DNS-BH/malwaredomain report, please evaluate the site yourself and rate accordingly.

    I dare you find a single malware on the sk1project.org website.

    This project helps the community by providing good, clean, free, opensource vector tools and really should be rated green.

  5. User picture
    • amishrabbit on Tue 08 Sep 2009
    • 03:13:51 PM UTC

    I don't see anything wrong with this site

    I'm fine rating this website green. In fact, these look like really useful tools for graphic design; so thanks for bringing them to my attention. But it looks like your beef is not exclusively with WOT but whoever puts together the DNS-BH, and Dancho Danchev. Have you contacted them as well? And have you considered simply moving your domain's hosting or DNS to a host that isn't also running malware central?

  6. User picture
    • sebsauvage on Tue 08 Sep 2009
    • 09:41:13 PM UTC

    Yes.

    Yes, it's Dancho Danchev who put sk1project in his list.
    I sent him an email on sept. 2nd, but no answer yet.

    And have you considered simply moving your domain's hosting or DNS to a host that isn't also running malware central?

    Unlcuckly, I do not own sk1project :-/

  7. User picture
    • g7w on Wed 09 Sep 2009
    • 03:32:35 AM UTC

    Agree

    There is nothing "wrong" with this domain, website, or software.
    In fact, I sent the link to my son who is into illustration and graphic design, whether he obtains a copy and uses it... is his decision. LOL, kids. :-)

    Green from me and my comment.
    -------
    Against Intuition - gives us safety through Web of Trust.
    WOT Community - gives us security through unity.
    Thank you all
    - G7W

  8. User picture
    • sebsauvage on Wed 09 Sep 2009
    • 06:53:15 AM UTC

    Thank you.

    Thank you.

  9. User picture
    • amishrabbit on Wed 09 Sep 2009
    • 04:31:39 PM UTC

    Hey Sebsauvage -- let the

    Hey Sebsauvage -- let the developers know that I'd really like a Win32 version of sk1. Linux is cool and all, but I work in Windows, and would love to subvert the Adobe monopoly on graphic design.

    • User picture
      • sebsauvage on Wed 09 Sep 2009
      • 07:34:47 PM UTC

      You're right

      You're right :-)

      It looks like sk1 is based on Python, tcl/tk and Cairo. All of these are available under Windows. Porting to Windows shouldn't be too hard, I think.

      Under Windows, although it's not as good as Illustrator, you can try Inkscape or Sodipodi.

      • User picture
        • g7w on Thu 10 Sep 2009
        • 02:02:11 AM UTC

        Python

        If it were pure Python it could run in Windows as well as *NIX.
        Blender is an example here, it requires Python and can easily run under Windows, but a Win32 executable would be nice. ;-)
        -------
        Against Intuition - gives us safety through Web of Trust.
        WOT Community - gives us security through unity.
        Thank you all
        - G7W

  10. User picture
    • Warxas on Wed 09 Sep 2009
    • 08:24:24 PM UTC

    Green

    Seems safe to be too. I randomly uploaded 3 files from the download section to Virustotal. They all came out clean, so the site is getting green from me. :)

  11. User picture
    • iantuttle on Thu 10 Sep 2009
    • 04:42:27 AM UTC

    I re-rated.

    I re-rated, thanks.

  12. User picture
    • sebsauvage on Fri 11 Sep 2009
    • 02:58:13 PM UTC

    Thank you.

    sk1project.org is now green.

    Thank you !

  13. User picture
    • johnsons on Wed 16 Sep 2009
    • 05:57:00 PM UTC

    Attack site

    www. marunakayoko.net/Wheel_2/pdf/gasket.pdf
    Attack site using pdf

    Edit: no live links to sites you believe to be dangerous, please. -- Sami

    • User picture
      • g7w on Wed 16 Sep 2009
      • 06:13:29 PM UTC

      off topic

      What does this post have to do with sk1project.org ?
      Also, there is nothing malicious about that simple PDF file. :/
      -------
      Against Intuition - gives us safety through Web of Trust.
      WOT Community - gives us security through unity.
      Thank you all
      - G7W

  14. User picture
    • amishrabbit on Wed 16 Sep 2009
    • 07:49:13 PM UTC

    benign PDF

    Passed that URL through Wepawet. Got nuffin.

    http://wepawet.iseclab.org/view.php?hash=b95f6dbbf...

    • User picture
      • sebsauvage on Wed 16 Sep 2009
      • 08:40:01 PM UTC

      Thanks

      Oh... thanks for this link. That's helpful.

  15. User picture
    • Delan Azabani on Tue 20 Oct 2009
    • 09:13:54 AM UTC

    Warxas, I've pulled my bad

    Warxas, I've pulled my bad rating and comment from WOT. Thanks for the heads-up.

  16. User picture
    • sebsauvage on Wed 21 Oct 2009
    • 01:38:33 PM UTC

    Thank you all.

    Thank you for for updating your ratings and comments on this domain.