Stumbled upon this weirdness:
http://www.mywot.com/scorecard/fessesbooks.com
Both that domain and www.facebook.com DNS to 69.63.181.12 which is on Facebook's ASN, AS32934.
This domain, however, has an oddball WHOIS record:
http://whois.domaintools.com/fessesbooks.com
Is that why the site gets a red rating?
Re: fessesbooks.com ~ facebook.com?
Mon Nov 16 22:50:35 2009 — SamiI'm not familiar with the domain, but it should be noted that anyone can point their domain's A record to any IP address. In other words, even if this domain currently points to an IP address allocated to Facebook, it doesn't mean that Facebook has anything to do with the domain.
robtex
Tue Nov 17 01:15:12 2009 — g7wInterestingly, hxxp://www.fessesbooks.com/ redirects to facebook.com
-------
WOT Services Ltd. - gives us safety through Web of Trust.
WOT Community - gives us security through unity.
Thank you all
- G7W
"fessesbooks.com is ranked
Tue Nov 17 13:18:49 2009 — demonluo"fessesbooks.com is ranked #8522707 world wide"
where do u get the ranking?
shoulda consulted robtex
Tue Nov 17 18:38:49 2009 — amishrabbitOf course relying on the A-record is dodgy. Seems to be fishy but it's hard to understand how it could be abused.
Re: shoulda consulted robtex
Tue Nov 17 18:59:55 2009 — SamiSeems to be fishy but it's hard to understand how it could be abused.
That's easy.